Alone!?

So I felt like making a post as I wait for my sushi at a busy restaurant.

Unlike everyone else here I am alone, and for me it’s not a big deal. I talked with some others in line when I was waiting and the girls were surprised that I was here alone. In my own defense I was surprised at their response as well. I am simply out looking for a good lunch. You wouldn’t see someone eating McDonalds or Pizza pizza differently if they were alone so why would you feel any different if you are at a sushi restaurant. The restaurant is not super fancy but there are tables and servers not a buffet. So why do people feel that doing something like eating alone is strange?

I am not sure about anyone else but for me if I want to do something I will do it. Why do you need a group of friends to go eat or shop? Don’t get me wrong eating, shopping, movie watching are all things people do socially. But if no one wants to do something and you really want to do it what is stopping you? You really didn’t want to do it in the first place? Or you wanted to be social? Maybe, but what if it’s something else a little closer to home? Fear? Cowardice? Insecurities?

If you want to see a movie but not alone are you worried about looking differently to others? Why do you care? Will you ever meet these people? Will they have any impact in your life? In all likelihood no. You are probably just scared that they will make fun of you or look down at you. But take a look at it a different way. If you are doing something fun why would others be paying attention to you anyways? If you are eating would you stare and make fun of random strangers?

I have little fear or caring for what strangers think of me so I feel uninhibited to do what I like. Movie alone? Sure. Dinner at a good restaurant alone? Why not? Shopping or going for a walk? Ya. I want to be social too but when others don’t want to partake in my awesome super happy fun times then why should I lose out?

One response to “Alone!?”

  1. Ms Big bada Boom says :

    8 days after my birthday. :O

Leave a comment